Tibetan Adventure in Sichuan


This is an adventurous and exciting journey across the Tibetan plateau which will start in one of China's most populous cities, Chengdu. We will see Chengdu’s star attraction the Pandas and spend some time with them. The tour is based in the Kham region of Sichuan Province.

Kham was a historical region of Tibet and was administered by Lhasa but was integrated into China in the 20th century. Han Chinese have filtered into the region to live but the Tibetan culture survives, with some changes and adaptations to the modern world. This tour will take you across a wide range of landscapes and you will travel through large tributary valleys of the great Asian rivers, across high scree - covered mountain passes and across vast green pastureland. Flowers are at all altitudes and there are a wide range of species. We will see eagles and vultures.

Nomadic life is changing but there are herds of yak and vast flocks of sheep. In contrast Tibetan farmers work the rich valleys growing barley, wheat and potatoes. Summer is the time for horse festivals and Tibetans gather in their finest traditional costumes and jewellery. The occasion is the time for horse racing, acrobatic riding, shooting competitions and dancing. Traders gather, buying, selling and dealing alongside the fun of the fair. Although this tour is often at altitude you are traveling in Land Cruisers and not walking long distances so you should not be unduly affected by altitude. There will be short walks in the countryside to enjoy the wild flowers and around the monasteries, so all clients should have a health check before booking.

We have put in a guide line of approximate altitude at places we sleep at. Please note wherever possible we have used Tibetan names of the centre after the Chinese names, as both are often found in guide books and maps.


D01                 Chengdu

D02                 Chengdu

D03                 Chengdu/Kangding

D04                 Kangding/Litang

D05                 Litang

D06                 Litang

D07                 Litang/Batang

D08                 Batang

D09                 Batang/Baiyu(Pelyul)

D10                 Baiyu/Dege(Derge)

D11                 Derge/Ganzi(Kandze)

D12                 Ganzi/Daofu(Tawu)

D13                 Daofu/Danba

D14                 Danba

D15                 Danba/Chengdu

D16                 Danba/Chengdu